A Favorite Shirt

shirt

I have had this shirt for more than 10 years, and it is something I wear a lot, especially in the summer. It’s not too heavy, not too warm, and goes with a lot of the casual sort of clothes I wear. Sundresses. Jeans. Other casual pants.

And it’s beginning to show its age. 😦

A couple weeks ago, I put it on as I was heading out the door to go to work, and noticed a hole worn through in the left elbow.

Fortunately, I work for in the main office for a local chain of fabric stores. So on my lunch break, I went out on the floor, described my problem to the assistant manager, and she helped me find a fabric that was a really good match.

After I got home from work, I went out to my sewing studio and patched the elbow with the fabric and some fusible web. Later, while watching TV, I added a blanket stitch around the edges to secure it and “prettify” it.

sleeve

Today, I noticed that the neck edge is fraying.

I have some of the fabric left from the amount I purchased for the elbow patch, but I think I should get enough so I can cut it on the bias. That will be easier to ease around the curved neck edge.

I love my employee discount!

 

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

