“Raspberry Mocha” Quilt: From Beginning to End

During a day trip to Vashon Island in July 2013, I stopped by the excellent quilt shop there, the Island Quilter where I purchased a packaged set of 10 fat quarters featuring a coffee theme.

FQ

I didn’t have anything specific in mind, beyond turning them into a new Craftsy project.

When I did finally sit down to think about what I wanted to make, I decided I didn’t want to buy any other fabric for the quilt top, but use only the fat quarters, and use them up as much as possible.

After cutting the sashing rectangles, I had little triangular pieces left over. I set them aside, and later pieced them together into what will most likely become part of a pillow.

DSCN4157

About nine months after our initial visit to Vashon, we returned in March 2014. I had finished the quilt top, but went back hoping that the Island Quilter would still have in stock on a bolt one of the fabrics in the fat quarter pack — the brown diamonds with the pink dots — which I wanted to use for the binding.

As luck would have it, they did. I also found another coffee-themed print for the backing.DSCN4158

If I wasn’t so particular about how my quilts are quilted, I might get them machine quilted. But I enjoy hand quilting, and much of the machine quilting I see (particularly”allover” quilting) doesn’t enhance the design of the quilt top; at worst, the quilting obscures the quilt top.

First, I quilted little diamonds in the sashing squares.

DSCN5541 copy

Then, I did a bunch of outline quilting in the large squares.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I thought about stopping there, but it seemed like more quilting was needed. So I quilted in the ditch along the diagonal seams in the sashing rectangles.

Along the way, I was also working on the written instructions and illustrations for the Craftsy pattern. Having spent more than 20 years illustrating step-by-step instructions for quilt projects, I really like to capture the “look and feel” of the fabric prints used in a quilt. Sometimes, solid colors will do. Other times, I can use a seamless pattern that I’ve drawn previously that is a good representation. Often, though, a fabric is so distinctive that it really needs to be duplicated very closely.

fabric fills

The hardest one was the beige “wave” pattern.

coffee quiltquilt plan

The image on the left is a photograph. The image on the right is an illustration.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

