My New Favorite Food

During a recent trip to the grocery store, I spotted a couple of salads at the deli counter that looked tasty. So, I purchased a small container of each.

A main ingredient in both of them was wheatberries, which I found to have a delightfully chewiness. One of them also contained red quinoa. The grocery store where we do most of our shopping had white quinoa, but I liked the look of the red quinoa. Conveniently, there is another store near us that carries somewhat more unusual items, and I found both the wheatberries and the red quinoa there.

The other ingredients in both salads were pretty easy to identify, and I was able to find similar recipes on the web which I could tinker with.

First, my adaptation of Cranberry and Mango Quinoa Salad. Some things I like better about my homemade version: I can remove the stems from the spinach leaves and also tear them into smaller pieces (the store-bought version had whole leaves, which made it a little too “spinach-y” for my taste, and the stems are a little bit tough, I think) and the store version seemed to be a little “soupy” (more dressing? My version turned out drier).

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup wheatberries

1/2 cup quinoa

1 cup spinach in bite size pieces

1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen mango chunks (I used frozen and cut the chunks into smaller pieces)

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Cook the wheatberries. I used my rice cooker with 1.25 cups water (1:2.5 ratio), but you can also cook them on the stove.

When the wheatberries are done, cook the quinoa. Bring 1 cup of water to a boil. Add quinoa. Bring back to a boil, cover, and cook over medium heat for 12 minutes or until quinoa has absorbed all the water. Set aside to cool.

Once the quinoa has cooled completely, add in the spinach, mango, onion, and dried cranberries. Stir and then add lemon poppy seed dressing.

Lemon Poppy Seed Dressing

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon honey

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

Whisk together lemon juice, honey and mustard. Stir in poppy seeds.

 

And the second salad, based on Feta-Wheatberry Salad.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup wheatberries

1/2 cup crumbled feta (about 2 ounces)

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup chopped cucumber

1/4 cup chopped red pepper

1 tablespoon dill

Cook wheatberries (see above). Stir together all ingredients. Stir in dressing.

Dressing

Combine 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice, 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar, and 1 minced garlic clove.

 

This entry was posted in in the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

