Magic Loop Knitting

About a week ago, right after I finished these socks, I was reading the latest postings on the Craftsy blog. I had already planned my next pair of socks, but I had not yet begun knitting.

One of the posts was about Magic Loop knitting.

I have always used dpns for knitting socks. I did try the method where you use two circular needles, but it just didn’t work for me.

I don’t mind using dpns, but in reading about the Magic Loop method, I thought it would be worth trying.

As it so happened, later that morning I was talking with a co-worker (also a knitter) about what I had read, and asked her what she knew about it. Turns out, she uses it and really likes it.

So, I decided to give it a whirl.

This latest pair of socks is knitting up really fast. The first one took only about a week to finish, and I have a good start on the second.

magic loop

The yarn is Painted Sky, color 203. I’m using size 4 needles, which accounts largely for why it’s taking me so much less time to make these compared to the previous pair, which were knit on size 1 needles.

The only thing I have to watch out for with the Magic Loop method is to remember to keep track of my rounds on my counter — I have a locking stitch marker placed to remind me, but I still forget occasionally. (With dpns, it’s harder to miss when I slip the stitch marker from one needle to another, although even that isn’t fail-safe.)

Fortunately, it’s really easy to count my rows on this yarn.

This entry was posted in knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic Loop Knitting

  1. Pingback: Sock Issues | Laurel's Studio

Leave a Reply

