Bug’s-Eye View of the Garden

One of the blogs I read each day is the Craftsy blog. The entries are relatively short and tightly focused — bigger than a sound bite and more informative, but easily digestible.

Several days ago, there was an entry about macro photography and food which prompted me to get out my better digital camera and head to the backyard last weekend.

My point and shoot digital camera does a great job most of the time, but its macro feature is just so-so. I feel that it doesn’t let me get as close as I want to. I think that’s largely  because its predecessor was better.

This evening, I finally had a chance to download the photos and take a look at them. I could see textures that otherwise get overlooked.

Zucchini

Zucchini

Embiggen the picture of the zucchini and you can see the rough texture of the leaf.

Raspberry

Raspberry

Some things look otherworldly.

Rose

Rose

Succulent

Succulent

Peony bud

Peony bud

Poppy

Poppy

Some turn into pure texture.

Peony

Peony

Rose

Rose

Lettuce

Lettuce

This entry was posted in flowers, in the garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

