“Here Comes the Sun”

Some number of years ago, I bought some fabric from a line called “Here Comes the Sun” by Patrick Lose. I’m not 100% certain, but I think I purchased it to make the clothes for a rabbit doll I made for a former co-worker.

Every time I rummage through my fabric stash, it always makes me smile to see it again.

As part of my endeavor to make a dent in my stash of scraps and my current interest in “made fabric,” I stitched together a pillow front from the bits and pieces.

pillow front

I had originally thought it would be another hand pillow but changed my mind. I decided it is perfectly charming the way it is, with all the smiley little suns. I don’t want to cover up any of them.

I always layer the pillow front the same way as a quilt, with batting and a backing piece. To the backing piece, I stitched a piece of selvage with the name of the fabric line, for posterity.

selvage

When the front was done, I still had a bit of fabric — enough to make the two pieces for the pillow back, as well as the covered cording.

pillow back

This is what is left over.

scraps

This entry was posted in sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Here Comes the Sun”

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate Scrap Quilt | Laurel's Studio

Leave a Reply

