Chinese Rainbow Painting

This past weekend, my charming husband and I drove down to Portland ā€” he to attend the Lovecraft Film Festival and me to, well, hang out.

There was a session of short films that he attended early Sunday afternoon. With a couple of hours to fill up, I headed downtown where the Portland Saturday Market was going on. (Yes, it’s kind of a misnomer. I guess it used to only be open on Saturdays, but later expanded to Sunday as well.)

I wandered through the fair, and then strolled along the waterfront. Walked around downtown a bit. Was going to head back to pick up Tim, but then something caught my attention.

I saw this older Chinese gentleman creating these wonderful pieces of art. His business card calls it “Name Painting,” but a Google search showed that it is also called “Rainbow Painting.”

He was amazing. He worked so quickly and meticulously, and finished up each piece in 15 or 20 minutes.

Here is a short video I took of him at work.

This entry was posted in art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chinese Rainbow Painting

  1. Nancy Miller says:

    Amazing…such detail with those little “stubby” brushes. Must have been fascinating to watch.

    Like

Leave a Reply

