Continental Knitting

This afternoon, I learned how to knit, continental-style.

I can definitely see the advantages. Because there’s so much less hand movement, I think my hands wouldn’t get as tired as they do with English-style. And, once I get the hang of it, switching between knit and purl is much quicker.

The main challenge, for me at least, is maintaining good tension with my left hand. I need to figure out the best way to wrap the yarn around my fingers to keep it from slipping.

I’m close to being done with a pair of socks. Maybe I’ll try knitting the next pair with this new (for me) technique.

Here’s the swatch I knit for practice.

continental

The other thing I noticed is that the overall fabric is a little looser and more open. My stitches aren’t as tight. Our instructor confirmed that gauge will differ between the two methods.

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

