No Spark of Joy

Yesterday, we cleared out the little closet in our kitchen that we call the pantry, disposed of some items that were well past their “best-used-by” date, and put the rest back in a more organized manner.

It was kind of amazing how much space we freed up by getting rid of some foodstuffs that we were obviously never going to use or eat, such as a box of Softasilk cake flour and a half-full tin of McCann’s steel cut oats.

Among other things that we pulled out was a tray with three (of an original four) plastic containers that had belonged to my mother.

3 containers 2

I remember these from my childhood, and she probably continued to use them until she moved out of the retirement cottage she and my dad had lived in after they sold their house, and she no longer kept her own kitchen.

Her refrigerator was always so organized. She always knew exactly where everything was — a place for everything and everything in its place.

I am like her in some ways, but definitely not this. There is some consistency to where things are placed in my refrigerator; for instance, the milk is always on the middle shelf on the right, the eggs are always just below them on the bottom shelf, the lettuce is always in the right-hand crisper drawer, and the cheese lives in the cheese drawer (mostly).

Other than that, anything else could be anywhere, and where it was yesterday may not be where it is today.

I just put things wherever there is room.

I can’t say now why I acquired these containers. I suppose it was with the idea that I might use them.

Which I never did.

Now, I don’t think I want to. The plastic has, with age, developed a kind of unpleasant stickiness.

On the bottom are stamped the words:

Reliance Ware

Freezer-Refrigerator Container

Reliance Molded Plastics Inc.

Pawtucket, R.I.

container3

A Google search turned up no such company still existing.

However, I did find this patent application for a safety pin design.

I’m a long way from being a convert to the KonMari method of decluttering, but I think I can bid farewell to these well-used containers and send them on their way.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in in the kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

